THE MEETING OF THE GODS (part 1)

Posted: March 11, 2013 in Drama, Tales, Talesmen Series
Tags: ,

Part 1

Image

The stage is set. Curtain opens to reveal a room. The walls are crimson and on opposite ends are windows open to the outside. A large mahogany door leads backstage. On the stage lies a couple of reclining …chairs encircling a large round table. All are made of wood. Adorning the table, close to the edges where the chairs are set, are sets of chalices with a large one set at the centre of the table. One after the other, the men come in through the backstage.

Almost as soon as all are seated, lightning flashes across the stage and is followed by a loud roar of thunder. Like a spark, the flash metamorphoses into a man. He wears a silky white robe taped at the extremes in silver. He has a small-size silver crown atop his head and holds a huge trident. All rises as they bow their heads to acknowledge this man. He sits and others follow suit)

Old Dragon: I have summoned you here. From the four corners of the earth, the minds and foolishness of men. I have seen the good works you have wrecked. Welldone! Now, for the benefit of the others seated here, recount all that you have done to completely spot the white robes of the supposedly spotless virgins. Let’s hear from you, god of thunder and lightning.

Zeus: (Stands and take a bow) What an honour! (He then stands upright) I have infiltrated the minds of men, young and old. I have taken over their souls and they have not realized it yet. Hardly would you find a man gifted in the arts who wouldn’t pay allegiance to me. Many ways have I taken over their souls. Permit me to tell some of them while I am seated (He bows again).

Old Dragon: Great Zeus! (Lets out a sinister laugh.) You have all the time you would need. We are all ears. (Motions to him to sit).

Zeus: Thank you sire. (Sits). I have made it so in the arts that if you do not know or write about me or other olympian gods, you do not know the arts. I have sponsored numerous laudable movies and writings that have heightened their zest to learn more. Why else would they flip the books in the library, their minds bent on one that sheds more light on the greek literature. They would spend hours on end feeding their gay curiousity, taking notes and aligning them for easier understanding. I have so infested their minds that each time lightning flashes and thunder strikes, Zeus comes to their minds. (Chuckles). I have also trained other gods to carry on the trend. Amongst my proteges are Sango, whom I have sent to some south-western part of a naive country,and Amadioha to the eastern part of the same country. Time would not permit me to name them all and state the geographical parts that I have handed over to them. (drinks from his cup).

Old Dragon: Bravo! I would love to hear more. Perhaps that is all you have wrought.

Zeus: No sire. I have also left them with many mysteries to solve. The paternity of numerous mystical births. An interesting tale of the emergence of other gods. Poseidon,hades,hera,and others. Foolish humans! They would never believe that I do not exist but in their minds. Feasting on their naivety and curiousity. I should stop here, lest I consume time.

Old Dragon: You have done well! Who else shall I call upon to give account? (Eyes Baphomet)

By: Coxson Tijani David Gascoigne (D.S_Hill)

Comments
  1. this is highly creative, thumbs up for the writer….so real was the settings, maybe the writer is one of the gods, who knows?lol

  2. Emeka says:

    How many more were summoned? It seems Zeus was the only one replying. From the Greek myth, Zeus was meant to be the Chief god while Appolo his spokesman. Where gone Appolo that his master has taken to talkativness towards replies to the Old Dragon

  3. Sheyzznote says:

    Can we actually conclude that such might be the state of affairs of things, and that an iota of truth may be embedded in Mr. Ajibola’s creative work?
    The blending of the whole meeting and discussion of the gods with how relevant their matters relate with happenings around our physical world is tempting enough to say its true? Guys, what do you think?

  4. Abd-afeez says:

    I was amazed by the concept the story employed, i was instantly in avid desperation to actually be in the midst of the gods. I love the dialogues in this piece, it is so much well written and properly detailed. kudos for this write Mr Ajibola.

  5. Justice uchenna says:

    The inherent artistry employ in this creative writing is enormous.good choice of words usage.thumps up!

  6. truism bro, this tale tells reality… I wonder why literature can’t let them be, maybe literature first began with what is written of them

  7. Sheyzznote says:

    I love this imagery, making the gods appear in human form to hold a meeting. Wow! Thrilling piece of creative art. I love how you balanced Zeus and other related gods like him, specifying Sango. Its cool, hope the part 2 comes up soon. Nice work talesmen! More stories…

  8. abimbola says:

    Looking forward 4 d Part 2. Good job!

Drop a Comment

